Access to personal study rooms and computer workstations will be closed during the 4-week province wide emergency shut down beginning Monday, April 5th. Contactless Pickup and Digital Delivery will continue to be available Monday through Friday. 

Remote hours of operation are 8:30 am - 4:30 pm from Monday to Friday. Please refer to our homepage and Frequently Asked Questions for the latest updates on our remote services, accessing the library building, and hours of operation. Be sure to login to your account to access all of our resources from off-campus. 

 

Newspapers

Current editions of The Windsor Star and The Globe and Mail can be found in the Leddy Library's Reading Lounge.

Current Newspapers

Anishinabek News https://anishinabeknews.ca/ a tabloid-format newspaper designed to foster pride and share knowledge about Anishinabek... [more]
Canadian Newsstream http://led.uwindsor.ca/canadian-newsstream Full text of 300 Canadian newspapers including The Windsor Star and The Globe and Mail.... [more]
CBCA Complete http://led.uwindsor.ca/cbca-complete With 600 full text titles, CBCA Complete is the most comprehensive Canadian reference... [more]
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) http://led.uwindsor.ca/cpiq millions of articles from a list of Canadian and International journals, magazines and... [more]
Factiva http://led.uwindsor.ca/factiva Factiva is a business information source produced by Dow Jones. It provides international... [more]
Newscan (Eureka) http://led.uwindsor.ca/newscan Newscan (Eureka) offers full-text access to more than 8,000 general and specialized news... [more]
The Turtle Island News http://led.uwindsor.ca/turtle-island-news Canada's only national native weekly newspaper, published every week at the Grand... [more]

Historical Newspapers

Globe and Mail 1844 - 3 years ago http://led.uwindsor.ca/globe-and-mail-1844 the full-page newspaper archive of The Globe and Mail from June 1844 to 3 years ago.... [more]
Detroit Free Press, 1831-1999 http://led.uwindsor.ca/detroit-free-press-archive The Detroit Free Press published its first edition before Michigan entered statehood and... [more]
Anishinabek News Archive http://anishinabeknews.ca/archive/ a tabloid-format newspaper designed to foster pride and share knowledge about Anishinabek... [more]
Assumption College Purple and White http://scholar.uwindsor.ca/purpleandwhite/ The Purple And White was the Assumption College (later Assumption University) student... [more]
Our Ontario Community Newspapers Collection http://led.uwindsor.ca/ink Searchable historical Ontario newspapers from 1810 onward. This resource brings... [more]
Proquest Historical Newspapers https://leddy.uwindsor.ca/proquest-historical-newspapers Subscription under review Leddy Library's subscription to ProQuest Historical... [more]
Sunday Times Digital Archive http://led.uwindsor.ca/sunday-times broke key stories of the 20th century such as the thalidomide scandal, Kim Philby as a... [more]
Times Digital Archive http://led.uwindsor.ca/times-digital-archive every page as published from over 200 years of the London newspaper. Coverage runs from... [more]

Historical News Digests

News digests are summaries of news stories gathered from a variety of sources. They provide quick facts, not in-depth detail. They are useful in providing specific time periods for tracking down newspaper articles.

Keesing’s Record of World Events
Reference Collection D 410 .K42
World news, including texts of speeches/documents, obituaries, statistics, maps from 1987-2009.
- previously Keesing’s Contemporary Archives, from 1957-1986, Serials D 410 .K4

Editorials on File
Reference Collection D 410 .E3
Editorials from almost 120 U.S. newspapers (including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Seattle Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Sun-Times) from 1970-2006.

Facts on File
Reference Collection D 410 .F3
Brief articles on world news from over 70 major newspapers from 1940-2007.

Canadian News Facts
Reference Collection F 5003 .C3
Collects news from numerous Canadian papers and the Canadian Press Service from 1967-2001.