Newspapers

Current editions of The Windsor Star and The Globe and Mail can be found in the Leddy Library's Reading Lounge.

Current Newspapers

Canadian Newsstand Complete http://led.uwindsor.ca/canadian-newsstand the full text of 300 Canadian newspapers including The Windsor Star and The Globe and... [more]
CBCA Complete http://led.uwindsor.ca/cbca-complete With 600 full text titles, CBCA Complete is the most comprehensive Canadian reference... [more]
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) http://led.uwindsor.ca/cpiq millions of articles from a list of Canadian and International journals, magazines and... [more]
Factiva http://led.uwindsor.ca/factiva Factiva is a business information source produced by Dow Jones. It provides international... [more]

Historical Newspapers

Globe and Mail 1844 - 3 years ago http://led.uwindsor.ca/globe-and-mail-1844 the full-page newspaper archive of The Globe and Mail from June 1844 to 3 years ago.... [more]
Detroit Free Press, 1831-1922 http://led.uwindsor.ca/detroit-free-press-archive The Detroit Free Press published its first edition before Michigan entered statehood and... [more]
New York Times (1851 - 5 years ago) http://led.uwindsor.ca/proquest-new-york-times historical newspaper provides researchers and scholars with coverage of the politics,... [more]
Times Digital Archive http://led.uwindsor.ca/times-digital-archive every page as published from over 200 years of the London newspaper. Coverage runs from... [more]
Proquest Historical Newspapers http://led.uwindsor.ca/proquest-historical-newspapers includes historical access to the following national newspapers: New York Times, Wall... [more]
Sunday Times Digital Archive http://led.uwindsor.ca/sunday-times broke key stories of the 20th century such as the thalidomide scandal, Kim Philby as a... [more]
Our Ontario Community Newspapers Collection http://led.uwindsor.ca/ink a project that digitizes backfiles of historic community newspapers in Ontario. Includes... [more]

Historical News Digests

News digests are summaries of news stories gathered from a variety of sources. They provide quick facts, not in-depth detail. They are useful in providing specific time periods for tracking down newspaper articles.

Keesing’s Record of World Events
Reference Collection D 410 .K42
World news, including texts of speeches/documents, obituaries, statistics, maps from 1987-2009.
- previously Keesing’s Contemporary Archives, from 1957-1986, Serials D 410 .K4

Editorials on File
Reference Collection D 410 .E3
Editorials from almost 120 U.S. newspapers (including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Seattle Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Sun-Times) from 1970-2006.

Facts on File
Reference Collection D 410 .F3
Brief articles on world news from over 70 major newspapers from 1940-2007.

Canadian News Facts
Reference Collection F 5003 .C3
Collects news from numerous Canadian papers and the Canadian Press Service from 1967-2001.